V.M.SALGAOCAR COLLEGE OF LAW MOOT COURT SOCIETY

REPORT – JUNE 2018 – April 2019

Faculty in charge–Pearl Monteiro

SELECTION MOOT COURT

The selection process for selecting students to represent the College in National and International Moot Court Competitions, began with a Selection Moot Court.Moot Problem was issued on 3rd July 2018. On 21thJuly 2018, the Selection was held for III, IV & V BA.LLB, II & III LL. B Degree. On 4th August 2018, Selection was held for I LL.B DEGREE AND II B.A LL.B. Different problems were issued, for the I LL.B DEGREE AND II B.A LL.B a criminal law problem was issued whereas a constitutional law problem was issued for the rest.

A total of 40 students were selected out of 150 participants.

ORIENTATION

Dr. B.S. Patil briefed the students on the art of preparing for a moot competition (FY Degree and SY BA LLB).

Prof. P. Monteiro oriented the teams on the art of mooting.

RESEARCH ACTIVITY:

The entirefaculty was involved in the research activity of the various national and international moot court competitions. Teachers were allotted to each team on the basis of their expertise.

Dr. M.R. K. Prasad, Prof. SandhyaRam ,Prof. Pearl Monteiro, Prof Bhakti Naik, Prof. Aamod Shirali and Prof SuchitaTimble guided students on Constitutional law competitions.

Dr. kim Couto guided the students on tort law

Dr. Mrunmayi Vaidya guided on tort and family law

Dr. B.S. Patil guided students on research methodology and criminal law,

Dr. Shaber Ali and Dr. K.S. Rao guided students on criminal law moot competitions.

TRIAL MOOTS

As a rule the Director of the moot court society holds the veto power to cancel the teams participation at any stage of the preparation if she does not like the level of preparation of the mooters. The veto is exercised based on recommendation of the trial moot teachers.

Each team has compulsorily to givetwo oral presentations to the satisfaction of the teacher. To implement this rule MCS was ably supported by Prof SuchitaTimble, Prof. Monteiro, Ram, Dr. Ali, Dr. Rao, Prof. Bhakti Naik, Prof. Aamod Shirali, Dr. Patil, Dr. Vaidya, Dr. Couto and the Principal Dr. M.R.K Prasad.

The College teams participated in 14 National Moot Court Competitions. The outstanding achievements of the college during the academic year are as follows:

- Best Student Advocate At 13thshankaraokanitkar National Level Moot Court Competition At Modern Law College Pune (Siddhi Naik)
- Semifinalists At 13thshankaraokanitkar National Level Moot Court Competition At Modern Law College Pune
- Best Student Advocate At Dr. Annasaheb G.D. Bendale Memorial Moot By S.S. Maniyar Law College Jalgaon (Samuel Abraham)
- Quarterfinalists At Dr. Annasaheb G.D. Bendale Memorial Moot By S.S. Maniyar Law College Jalgaon
- Second Best Student Advocate At 2ndsurana And Surana And Dr M.S. Ramaiah National Tort Law Moot Court (Isha Saglani)

NO	Moot	Participants	Date	Result
1	School Of Law	Ekta Jha	29 September - 1	Participated
	Manipal University,	Erushka Dias	October	
	Jaipur,	Rhea Almeida		
	4 th manipalranka			
	National Moot Court			
	Competition			
2	Law College	Ritesh Rawal	5-7 October	Submitted
	Dehradun Faculty Of	Omkar Thakur		Memorial
	Uttaranchal	Akshata Bharne		
	University 3 rd			
	National Moot Court			
	Competition On			
	Constitutional Law			
3	Symbiosis Law	Harshaldesai	28-30 September	Participated
	School Hyderabad 3 rd	Darlene Fernandes		
	National Moot Court	Visesh Kulkarni		
	Competition 2018			
4	Ajynkya D.Y. Patil	Nandagopal P	8 Feb	Participated
	University School Of	Tabitha Souto		
	Law Pune	Shalaka Dhavalikar		

Details of the other Competitions in which the College participated are given below:

5	13 th shankaraokanitkar National Level Moot Court Competition At Modern Law College	Siddhi Naik Ujwala Narvekar	11-12 Jan	Semifinalists Best Student Advocate (Siddhi Naik)
6	Pune5thauro NationalMoot CourtCompetition At AuroUniversity Surat	Kshipra Bapat Ravnak Mayenkar Vibhuti Sirsat	22-24 Feb	Participated
7	2 nd surana And Surana And Drm.S.Ramaiah National Tort Law Moot Court And Judgment Writing Competition	Natasha Couta Isha Saglani Prabhav Shirviocar	8-10 March	2 nd Best Student Advocate(Isha Saglani)
8	First All India Moot Court Competition At Vivekananda Law College Puttur	Vaibhavi Rane Om Da Costa Ben Joseph	22-24 Feb	Participated
9	Dr. Annasaheb G.D. Bendale Memorial Moot By S.S. Maniyar Law College Jalgaon	Parita Naik Samuel Abraham Kartik Panchal	9-10 Feb	Best Student Advocate
10	Panjab University Regional Centres Moot Court Competition Ludhiana	Harsh Joshi Phiroze Loran Rizzio De Noronha	8-10 Feb	Participated
11	UNDP-GEF-NLSIU- CERA Biologic Diversity Law Moot Court Competition At NLSIU Bangalore	Amrit Dutta Megh Maneshinde Guruprasad Naik	20-22 Feb	Participated
12	Government Law College Thrisuur 11 th All India Moot Court Competition For Justice T Ramachandran Memorial Ever Rolling Trophy	Akshata Bharne Sanaya Monteiro	1-3 March	Participated
13	Smt K.G. Shah Law School 4 th National Moot Competitio	Rajsankar Runal Divkar Devang Naik	2-3 March	Participated
14	Sinhgad Law College 5 th Kashibai Navale National Moot Court Competition	Ritesh Rawal Omkar Thakur	15-16 March	Participated





